Branches or Paths of Yoga (Bhakti, Karma, Jnana, Raja, Tantra, Hatha)

Please Note: This is part of a series of related topics. Use the quick menu above to navigate within this section.

Lesson Overview

In this lesson, we introduce the diverse branches of yoga.


Become familiar with the major branches of yoga and their origins.


Examine the primary focus and underlying principles of Bhakti, Jnana, Raja, Tantra and Hatha Yoga. Describe how Hatha Yoga is distinguished from other branches and how Hatha Yoga, Tantra, and Raja Yoga are related. Explain the causal forces that sparked the rise of Tantra and the primary philosophical underpinning of the philosophy.

See Also

To view this page and thousands more, we invite you to join Yoga Teacher Central, serving teachers since 2012.

You'll get instant access to a massive, organized library of practical and time-tested lessons, plans, and support for yoga teachers and trainers.

The entire site is member-supported and ad-free.

Be the finest yoga teacher you can be.

Select below to learn more, sign up, or log in.

© 2024 Yoga Teacher Central • All rights reserved • Terms of service • Privacy policy